ICMM is a self-supporting members organisation. Each Full Member museum has one vote in any matter that may come before the general assembly which meets at each biennial Congress.

ICMM is governed by a President, Vice-President, and Executive Council. These officers serve two-year terms; they are nominated and elected by delegates representing Full Member museums at each biennial Congress. In addition, a Secretary General and Treasurer are appointed by the Executive Council for a two-year term.

ICMM Standing Committees address specific issues of administration and international affairs, such as membership, ship preservation and archaeology. All Full Member museums are equally eligible to be represented on committees and to hold executive office.

The ICMM Constitution is available by clicking here.

ICMM Full Member museums appoint their own Congress delegates, with no specific limit on the number of representatives an institution may send to a biennial Congress.

You are invited to join this international group of member museums. Please visit the 'How to Join ICMM' page for details.

ICMM Officers and Executive Council Members

Following the 2017 ICMM Congress, the ICMM Executive Council has the following members:

President: Stephen C White, President, Mystic Seaport, Connecticut, USA
Vice-President: Marika Hedin, Museum Gustavianum, Uppsala, Sweden
Secretary General: Sally Archer^, Royal Museums Greenwich, UK
Hon Treasurer (interim): Frits Loomeijer^, Maritiem Museum, Roterdam, the Netherlands
Elected Members:

Pierangelo Campodonico, Istituzione Musee del Mare e delle Migrazioni, Italy

Kristen Greenaway, Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, USA

Hanna Hagmark-Cooper, Aland Maritime Museum, Mariehamn, Aland Islands

Marika Hedin, Museum Gustavianum, Uppsala, Sweden

Andre Kirouac, Musee naval de Quebec, Canada

Matthew Tanner, SS Great Britain, Bristol, UK

Richard Wesley, Hong Kong Maritime Museum, Hong Kong

Stephen C White, President, Mystic Seaport, Connecticut, USA

Zefeng You, Institute of Ancient Chinese Ships, Ningbo, China 

                                   ^ = appointed

Co-opted Members:

Christopher Dobbs, Mary Rose Museum, UK

Alan Edenborough, Sydney Heritage Fleet, Australia

Thomas Overdick, Ministry of Culture and Media of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

David Wright, Royal New Zealand Navy Museum, Auckland, New Zealand


ICMM Maritime Archaeology Committee


Chairman: Christopher Dobbs, Head of Interpretation and Maritime Archaeology, Mary Rose Trust (UK)
Comittee Members:

Robert Domzal, Curator, Polish National Maritime Museum and ICMM EC member (Poland)

James Delgado, Director of Maritime Heritage, National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (USA)

Art Conh, Executive Director, Lake Champlain Maritime Museum (USA)

Fred Hocker, Research Director, Vasa Musuem Ship Unit, Swedish National Maritime Museum (Sweden)